COVID-19 Alert   We have changed our procedures for COVID-19.   Learn More
What to consider when laying off employees due to COVID-19. Learn More

Revised New Hire Form

Four months after providing the original template, the Labor Commissioner has posted a new template for employers to use when hiring new employees.  As you may recall, pursuant to the Wage Theft Protection Act, all new employees must receive and sign a “Notice to Employee” under Labor Code 2810.5.  The form includes information regarding the name and addresses of the employer, pay rates, and the employer’s workers’ compensation carrier.

Employers were not required to provide the required notice to existing employees (unless one of the listed items changes), but all new hires must receive and execute the form.  The new form has slight changes affecting temporary staffing agencies.  Employers are not required to provide the new form to employees who already filled out the old form.

The new form can be downloaded here.

The Law Office of Phillip J. Griego
95 South Market Street, Suite 520
San Jose, CA 95113
Tel. 408-293-6341
Original article by Robert E. Nuddleman, a former associate of The Law Office of Phillip J. Griego.
Feel free to suggest topics for the blog. We are happy to consider topics pertaining to general points of Labor and Employment Law, but we cannot answer questions about specific situations or provide legal advice. If you desire legal advice, you should contact an attorney.
Your use of this blog does not create an attorney-client relationship between you and the Law Office of Phillip J. Griego. The use of the Internet or this blog for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be posted in this blog and the Law Office of Phillip J. Griego cannot guarantee the confidentiality of anything posted to this blog. Phillip J. Griego represents employees and businesses throughout Silicon Valley and the greater San Francisco Bay Area including Palo Alto, Menlo Park, Mountain View, Los Altos, San Jose, the South Bay Area, Campbell, Los Gatos, Cupertino, Morgan Hill, Gilroy, Sunnyvale, Santa Cruz, Saratoga, and Alameda, San Mateo, Santa Clara, San Benito, Mendocino, and Calaveras counties.